Jul 19, 2024  
2020-2021 Graduate Catalog 
2020-2021 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

2020-2021 Graduate Catalog

Rockhurst University
2020-2021 Catalog


The Rockhurst Seal, adopted in 1945, summarizes pictorially the inspiration and history of the University. In 1999, the seal was modified to reflect the institution’s new name: Rockhurst University (previously Rockhurst College). The shield in the center comprises four quarters separated by a cross with seven pillars, symbolizing the seven pillars of wisdom and the seven liberal arts. Reading clockwise, the moorcock is from the family shield of St. Thomas More, patron saint of Rockhurst. The stony, wooded hill represents the ground on which Rockhurst was built and for which it was named. The holly sprig is from the coat of arms of the Dowling family in honor of the University’s founder. The year 1910 is the founding year of Rockhurst. The quarter bars are from the family shield of St. Ignatius of Loyola, founder of the Society of Jesus. The Latin words below the shield translate,

“Wisdom has built herself a home.”

1100 Rockhurst Road, Kansas City, Mo. 64110-2561

Accreditation and Affiliations

Rockhurst University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association, 230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, IL, 60604, www.ncahlc.org, (800) 621-7440. Additionally, specific programs include accreditations by  Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC) Western Association of Schools and Colleges; AACSB International-The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (undergraduate and master’s degree programs), www.aacsb.edu/accreditation, 777 South Harbour Island Boulevard, Suite 750, Tampa, FL, 33602-5730; the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE); The New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE); the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU); The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC); WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC); the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education of the American Occupational Therapy Association (ACOTE), 4720 Montgomery Lane, Ste. 200, Bethesda, MD, 20814-3449; the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE), 1111 N. Fairfax St., Alexandria, VA, 22314-1488; the American Chemical Society, 1155 Sixteenth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20036, www.acs.org; the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, http://www.ccneaccreditation.org, 655 K Street NW, Suite 750, Washington DC 20001; the Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CAA) of the American Speech-Language and Hearing Association, 2200 Research Blvd., #310, Rockville, MD, 20850-3289 (Master of Science Education program); the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC), One DuPont Circle NW, Ste. 320, Washington, D.C., 20030, and the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE), and the Missouri Association of Colleges of Teacher Education (MACTE). The University holds memberships in the American Council on Education, the Association of American Colleges, the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, the American Physical Therapy Association, the Council of Academic Programs in Communication Sciences and Disorders, the National Council for Undergraduate Research, the Nonprofit Academic Centers Council, the Institute for International Education, the Council for International Educational Exchange, the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities, the Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities, the Missouri Association of Colleges and Universities, the Missouri Colleges Fund, Inc., the Council of Independent Colleges, The College Board, and the Council of Graduate Schools. The University is an affiliate of Nonprofit Leadership Alliance and the Nonprofit Academic Centers Council and partners with the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) Mid America Chapter. As of May 2020 Rockhurst University acquired/merged with Saint Luke’s College of Health Sciences. With the merge, Rockhurst University has received certification from American Medical Technologists (AMT), verifying that all qualifying Rockhurst programs are eligible to sit for the certification exam through AMT. Saint Luke’s College, as part of Rockhurst University, has also notified the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), the National Council of State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement, and the Missouri State Board of Nursing (MOBN) of the merge between Saint Luke’s and Rockhurst University. Final confirmation of approval from those entities is pending.

This Rockhurst University 2020-2021 Catalog is for informational purposes and does not constitute a contract or part of a contract between Rockhurst University and any student. Information in this Catalog concerning academic programs,  tuition, financial aid, academic rules and regulations, and faculty is current as of August 1, 2020. Programs and program requirements and University policies and procedures can and do change from time to time for the improvement and development of academic offerings of the University, to reflect advancement in higher education, and for compliance with applicable law.

The program and degree requirements specified in this publication apply to students who commence their studies at Rockhurst University during the 2020-2021 academic year, and who remain in continuous enrollment at the institution until they are graduated. Individual schools and departments may have additional degree and other requirements. Students and prospective students should contact the administrative offices of both the school and the department of the program in which they are enrolled or to which they are applying for information on those requirements. Although requirements are subject to change without notice, as a general rule, and whenever possible, students may elect to comply with the new requirements or to remain under the requirements set forth in the catalog in effect when they began their studies (provided they have maintained continuous enrollment). Students who do not maintain continuous enrollment must satisfy the academic requirements of the catalog under which they re-enroll. Students who change their major may be bound by the regulations for the new major that are in effect the semester when they declare or change their major and officially begin studies in that program.

General FAX number
(816) 501-4588

(816) 501-4100 or 1-800-842-6776

Admission Office E-mail

(816) 501-4250

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
(816) 501-4617

Vice President for Business and Finance
(816) 501-4870

Vice President for Mission and Ministry
(816) 501-4599

Vice President for University Advancement
(816) 501-4888

College of Arts and Sciences, Dean
(816) 501-4075
FAX: (816) 501-4169

College of Health and Human Services, Dean
(816) 501-4767
FAX: (816) 501-4615

College of Business, Influence & Information Analysis, Dean
(816) 501-4200
FAX: (816) 501-4650

Research College of Nursing, Dean
(816) 995-2800
FAX: (816) 995-2813

Saint Luke’s College of Health Sciences, Dean
(816) 936-8711

Advancement Office
(816) 501-4300
FAX: (816) 501-4136


Alumni Office
(816) 501-4025
FAX: (816) 501-4136

Career Center
(816) 501-4061
FAX: (816) 501-4822

Financial Aid
(816) 501-4600
FAX: (816) 501-3139

Greenlease Library
(816) 501-4142
FAX: (816) 501-4666

Public Relations and Marketing
(816) 501-4895
FAX: (816) 501-4718

(816) 501-4057
FAX: (816) 501-4677

Residence Life
(816) 501-4663
FAX: (816) 501-4822

Student Accounts
(816) 501-4175
FAX: (816) 501-2291

Student Development
(816) 501-4125
FAX: (816) 501-4845

TDD (Telecommunications Device for the Deaf)
(816) 501-2155 (4TDD)

The Rockhurst University Catalog is on the Internet. The web site is: www.rockhurst.edu/catalog